E.J. Strickland - Warriors For Peace (Hi-Res Audio)

E.J. Strickland - Warriors For Peace  (Hi-Res Audio)
E.J. Strickland - Warriors For Peace  (Hi-Res Audio)


No items found.



Release date:
November 20, 2018

Download available in 24-Bit / 44.1 kHz

€ 20.00 EUR
/ per hour
Ask a question about the artistMore info about the artistMore info about the projectArtist's Website

Fun. Stirring. Intriguing. Kinetic: There are so many moods and meanings enmeshed into E.J. Strickland’s music. His myriad influences and ideas crossing and branching out in every direction set up the basis for a remarkable album.

"Warriors For Peace" is a brilliant success and a joy to share a committed musical approach. It is an album with only original compositions by E.J. Strickland which reflects the peaceful and persistent intensity with which battles for peace, equality, & justice are fought worldwide. It is a dedication to those who break the silence and stand up for what is right, even in the face of much adversity.

The album was recorded in April 2018 on the road in Marseille (France). The overall feeling is very peaceful & joyous. Although one wouldn't classify it as a ballads album, it gives a similar sensation of calm beauty & elegance. All the musicians on this album play with the same love and joy. Each E.J. composition is a journey towards peace, whether it be about taking a stand against evil or finding inner peace within ourselves.

It is high quality, sophisticated jazz in the modern traditional sense—nothing avant-garde, but fresh melodies with hip harmonies played head, solo, head by some of the best jazz musicians in the music business. As a matter of fact, E.J.’s bandmates’ performances are illuminating, but during all tunes of “Warriors for Peace” it’s Strickland who’s shining the light!

In this CD, E.J. proves again his ability to get the most out of his musicians and to show that drummer-led music gives listeners a unique opportunity to live creative, eclectic, enjoyable music, always full of freshness, fun and groove.

E.J. Strickland - drums
Godwin Louis - alto sax
Jure Pukl- tenor & soprano saxes
Taber Gable - piano
Josh Ginsburg- bass

Ulrich Edorh- vocals (track 11)